Rob Behrens and Nicola Williams co-opted to OA Executive Committee

The Executive Committee have co-opted Rob Behrens and Nicola Williams to fill the vacancies left on the Executive Committee by the recent departures of Judy Clements from the Office of the Independent Adjudicator and Kathryn Stone from the Legal Ombudsman.

Rob and Nicola have been co-opted to the Executive Committee from January 2018 until the AGM on 24 May 2018, at which elections will take place to fill the two vacancies.

Rob Behrens was appointed to the role of Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman in April 2017, after ten years as an ombudsman in legal services and then higher education.

Nicola Williams is the Service Complaints Ombudsman for the UK Armed Forces, which was established in January 2016. Nicola was previously the Complaints Commissioner for the Cayman Islands, and a Commissioner at the Independent Police Complaints Commission.

Nick Bennett, Chair of the Association, said “I’m delighted to welcome both Rob and Nicola onto the OA Executive Committee. I know they will both bring a huge amount to the Executive considering their experience in the sector.”

In accepting the role, Nicola Williams said “I’m honoured to join the OA Executive Committee until May and look forward to contributing to the work of the Association during this time.”

Rob Behrens added, “I greatly value PHSO being part of the wider ombudsman community and welcome the opportunity this appointment brings to engage and learn from colleagues across the sector.”


  1. The Executive Committee is responsible for the conduct of the business of the Association.
  2. Under the Association’s Rules (7(c)): Any vacancy occurring between Annual Meetings by resignation or otherwise may be filled by the Executive Committee at their discretion until the conclusion of the next Annual Meeting, at which an election shall be held.
  3. The Association’s Rules (8(b)(i) set out that:  The eight members representing Ombudsman Members (including the Chair and Vice-Chair) will ideally include: Two public sector ombudsmen from the UK; Two private sector ombudsmen from the UK; Two ombudsmen from Ireland; One ‘small’ ombudsman scheme (XXS, XS or S budget categories).
  4. Biographies of the Executive Committee members can be found here: