Skip to main content
Press release

Launch of Outstanding Contribution Award

Donal Galligan
Donal Galligan
Chief Executive, OA
Share this page

The Ombudsman Association are delighted to announce that we are introducing an annual award to recognise and celebrate outstanding contributions to the Ombudsman sector.

The award, which is being established in Caroline Mitchell’s memory, will seek to draw attention and give recognition to the outstanding work that so many in the ombudsman community do.

Caroline was a firm fixture in the ombudsman landscape for many years having joined the Insurance Ombudsman Bureau (the first private sector scheme in the UK) in 1984, and worked for the Building Societies Ombudsman and the Police Complaints Authority, before working at the Financial Ombudsman Service from 2002-2019. Caroline also spent several years on the OA’s Executive Committee and latterly chaired the OA Policy Network.

The winner of the inaugural 2021 award, which will be presented at the OA’s AGM on 22 June 2021, will also receive free attendance to the OA’s 2021 Conference in Manchester (22-23 June) and be profiled in the OA’s Newsletter.

Do you know someone who has made an outstanding contribution to the ombudsman sector? Perhaps through an investigation which had a significant impact on a number of people, by making an improvement to the customer experience, or through years of consistent service? If so, then please consider nominating them for this award.

Those being nominated should be put forward by two members of the OA – that can be any staff member of an Ombudsman member, Complaint Handler member, or Associate member.

Nominations will be considered by a panel who will then decide who has made the most significant contribution to the ombudsman sector that year from amongst the nominees.

The panel, which will be chosen each year by the OA Board, will for 2020/21 consist of:

  • Anthony Arter, OA Chair (and Pensions Ombudsman);
  • Caroline Wayman, Financial Ombudsman Service; and
  • Doug Melville, Channel Islands Financial Ombudsman


Nominations should be submitted to Donal Galligan ( by 30 November 2020 using the form below. The winner will be informed in February 2021 and the award presented at the OA’s AGM in Manchester on 22 June 2021.

 OA Outstanding Contribution Award – nomination form

Related News